breakfast

Healthier Carrot Cake Muffins

IMG_0537

You know, muffins aren’t my thing. I don’t choose a muffin from a continental breakfast, I don’t ‘ooh and ahh’ like my husband at our local bakery over the muffins. They’re good but they just don’t do much for me. I like my breakfast hearty and savory, so turkey sausage or bacon, egg & veggie omelettes etc.

But every now and then I think “Hey! I can make a batch of muffins for a grab and go snack” and that’s just what I did!

Carrot cake isn’t everyone’s cup of tea but I LOVE IT. It’s probably my favorite dessert..with cream cheese icing of course! But I can’t enjoy carrot cake five days a week and call it a ‘healthy’ morning snack so I turned my love of carrot cake into a hearty, wholesome muffin.

Filled with fresh grated carrot, warm spices like cinnamon and a touch of ginger and a good source of fiber..count me in!

okay okay so lets get to making them..

What you need:

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup all purpose white flour
  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground giner
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs, room temp
  • 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt, I always use Fage or Chobani
  • 1/4 cup REAL maple syrup- no Aunt Jemima here, you can substitute honey in it’s place, it will just change the taste a little bit
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk of your choice- I use skim milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups grated carrots
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts- you can omit or replace with raisins or another nut if you wish

 

How to make it:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F
  2. Fill your muffin tin with muffin liners or spray very well if you don’t have paper liners.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, combine the dry ingredients: flours, oats, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and salt.
  4. In a separate bowl, combine the wet ingredients, beat the eggs until they become frothy before adding in the yogurt, maple syrup, sugar, milk, and vanilla.
  5. Mix until well combined then fold in the carrots.
  6. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, mixing until just combined. Add walnuts or raisins, if you choose.
  7. Pour the batter evenly among the 12 muffin cups, filling almost to the top, just about 3/4 of the way.
  8. Bake for 20 minutes, or until the tops of the muffins are firm to the touch and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.
  9. Allow the muffins to cool in the pan for 5 minutes before moving them to a wire rack to cool.

*These stored well in an air tight container for 5 days for me, I’m sure they would freeze well too.

IMG_0535
Has anyone really ever gotten salmonella from eating batter because I certainly took a few spoonfuls..to taste test ya know?!

Let me know did you try this recipe? Do you have a favorite muffin recipe?

Leave a Reply

