Lunch and Dinner

Bringing back tofu tuesdays with teriyaki tofu!

So I’m sitting here on a quite cold Saturday in Connecticut, I have the game on (Patriots vs. Texans–Go Pats!)  and thinking about how delicious this recipe was!

So my husband is in grad school right now and for the last 5 semesters his class has fallen on a Tuesday–so after work I just have to make dinner for myself, and that is how tofu Tuesdays started! My husband hates tofu-can’t stand the texture but me I LOVE IT. That’s my go to at our Thai restaurant– yellow thai tofu curry with mixed veggies and brown rice, or at our chinese restaurant–szechaun spicy tofu with veggies and brown rice. Can you tell I really like asian food?

So this past Tuesday was Jon’s first class back after winter break and I was excited to get back to it! Spicy, sweet, savory, flavorful and full of protein and veggies. Normally my go to is to throw it over quinoa or brown rice but I had some leftover plain whole wheat pasta-so I dressed with with some of the tofu marinade and sauteed them to warm them up.

If you’re not a tofu person, make the sauce with chicken–I make it regularly with boneless chicken breasts or boneless thighs for the hubby and I.

fullsizerender-1

Ingredients

  • 1 package of firm or extra firm tofu
  • ½ cup of reduced sodium soy sauce or coconut aminos
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 tsp of dried ginger–you could used fresh if that’s what you have
  • 2 garlic cloves minced- I grate mine on a box grater
  • 2 tsp coconut oil
  • 1/2-1 tsp of red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp sriracha sauce
  • sesame seeds
  • chopped green onions (not pictured!!)
  • To complete your meal:
    • mixed veggies any of the following could work
      • broccoli
      • carrots
      • zucchini
      • snow peas
      • corn
      • cauliflower
      • onions
      • mushrooms
      • edamame
      • bean sprouts
      • bamboo shoots
      • bok choy
    • any grain/starch option you choose
      • rice
      • pasta
      • quinoa
      • cauliflower rice

How to make it

  1. Drain the package of tofu
  2. Place tofu between two plates and press the excess fluid out of the block of tofu. I tend to hold it pressed between the two plates side ways and press the fluid over a bowl or the sink
  3. Chop the tofu into small-medium cubes
  4. Mix all of the ingredients together except the sesame seeds, green onions and coconut oil.
  5. Marinate the tofu–if I’m in a rush I will do 15 minutes but 30-45 minutes is best
  6.  Melt the coconut oil in a frying pan on medium-high heat
  7. When the oil is melted and hot, add the tofu
  8. Cook the tofu on each side of the cubes until golden brown and it looks ‘crisp’ this helps prevent that ‘mushy’ texture a lot of people don’t like about tofu.
  9. When all of the tofu is browned add the marinade back to the frying pan and let the sauce soak in and thicken just a little. ****CAUTION: if making this with chicken and not tofu, do NOT pour in the used marinade after the chicken has been in it, instead separate out a portion of it prior to marinating the meat*****
  10. Pan fry or steam your veggies
  11. Prepare your rice, pasta or quinoa according to package
  12. Layer on your grain/starch base then tofu and any sauce.
  13. Top with sesame seeds and green onions!

 

Leave a Reply

